Ashleigh’s IB Theatre Journal

More Researching!

Posted on: May 15, 2009

During the double periods this week, I continued to work on my Research Investigation. Things are going along well, however I still have to organise the colour swatches, which I am planning on getting from the local hardware. On Wednesday, I realised I needed some more information about the fashion worn in the late 19th century, especially about men’s fashion. So I went to the school library and found two useful books.

1. Patterns for Theatrical Costumes., This provided me with drawings of clothing worn in the early, mid-late and late 19th century by both men and women. It also showed the undergarments worn by women and each drawing is labeled with each piece of clothing’s name. The book also provided patterns for these clothing. I found this book particularly useful as it names each part of clothing and gives me an idea as to what the outfits should look like. The useful pictures will be used in my RI.

2. Costume & Fashion; a complete history. This provided me with an overall history of clothing in the 19th century, and provided some good detailed images about specific parts of clothing. I will use some of the images out of this book to support my facts.

On Monday, we are going to the state library to continue our research. I have reserved some books which I am hoping will also be useful, as I still need to find out about what material is used to make the men’s trousers.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Sian Clarke: Hello Ash. I'm the girl who played Rizzo on the Thursday night performance of "Grease" I'm sad to hear that you didn't enjoy it all that much,
  • Mrs Anketell: It sounds absolutely beautiful.
  • spiraltic: hey there, I'm taking IBHL theater right now...and I'm also doing a research investigation on bunraku...do you think you can point me in the right dir

Categories